What we’re learning

We like to do some learning before we go on vacation. It’s important to us that our boys understand what we’re seeing and I’m hoping that later in life they’ll be able to have memories of those places.  I’m hoping to do a post each Friday highlighting what we’ve been learning about! All of our learning happens during weekend and after school hours since we don’t homeschool. I try to make it as fun as possible and have a lot of books on the subject laying around so the boys are learning even when they don’t know it!

We have a lot of fun stuff to learn about before we go to Europe. We just finished learning about castles and medieval times. Of course the boys loved all of that learning!

Now we’ve moved onto a couple weeks of learning about Shakespeare. We do a lot of reading together as a family so fitting Shakespeare into our days isn’t as hard as you might imagine! The library is a great resource for us. I like to go onto Amazon and do some searching and then go to the library website with a list of books I’m already interested in. Then I’m able to put them on hold and I get a text message when they’re ready to pick up! So easy!

A few of the books we’re currently reading.

IMG_0943

IMG_0944

I selected this book to read for myself. In the book he really pushes memorization of Shakespeare for young kids and that’s basically all the book is about. I hadn’t even thought of doing any memorization but he makes it seem so approachable in the book, so I decided to give it a shot. My boys are pretty good memorizers, they do scripture memorization at school so this isn’t a foreign concept to them!

 

 

 

IMG_0948

 

The first passage we’re memorizing is from A Midsummers Night’s Dream.

“I know a bank where the wild thyme blows,
Where oxlips and the nodding violet grows,
Quite over-canopied with luscious woodbine,
With sweet musk-roses and with eglantine”

This is the first passage the author recommends and I thought it was a strange choice but as we started talking about it and learning about it, I think it’s a great choice. We were able to talk about the different flowers and the imagery that Shakespeare uses. We’ve talked about the whole passage but so far we’ve just focused on the first line.

IMG_0961

IMG_0962

IMG_0963

 

I had the boys do a watercolor picture while I started reading the play. Then they wrote the line on their picture. All 3 boys have this line memorized so now we’re ready to move on! Learning Shakespeare can be fun!

We’re also reading about Shakespeare’s life. I love love love the Who was… books. They are so appealing to kids and written in a way that makes history interesting.

So, why did I choose to have the boys learn about Shakespeare? I decided to focus a few weeks on literature of Europe, London in particular. And I really couldn’t do that without some Shakespeare. We’re also going to be reading some Dickens and a kids version of Sherlock Holmes. And the kids are excited to read more Paddington Bear stories after we saw the movie, which is set in London so I’m grouping that into our learning!

London is home of the Shakespeare Globe. We probably won’t go inside it because it’s expensive, especially for a family of 5! We just miss the season for plays which is something we would have paid to go to there, so that’s disappointing.  But we will go check out the outside of it. I want the boys to be able to have the visual image of that. I really hope later in life when they study Shakespeare they’re able to remember visiting the area and therefore be better able to engage and learn.

So the plan for next week is to continue with our memorization and also start to read some of his other work!

Leave a Reply

